Many people are not aware that Florida has a “Move Over Law”. It is important to know what the consequences are if you fail to abide by this law. If you a cited for this infraction it could cost you 3 points on your license.
What is Florida’s Move Over Law For?
- It protects law enforcement officers, tow truck drivers, and emergency workers stopped along roadways while performing their jobs.
- This law requires motorists to mover over when a patrol car, tow truck/wrecker or emergency vehicle is stopped on the side of the road with flashing lights. If you cannot move over safely, you are required to slow down to at least 20 mph below the posted speed limit.
What are you required to do?
- You must approach the emergency vehicle with caution.
- You must change lanes away from the emergency vehicle if traveling on a multi-lane roadway AND be able to move over safely; OR
- You must slow down while maintaing a safe speed of 20 mph below the posted speed limit and be careful NOT to impede or block the flow of traffic unless otherwise directed by a law enforcement officer.
You can visit the Florida Highway Patrol website at www.flhsmv.gov/fhp for more information or call 850-617-2301.